World Autism Awareness Day

Today is World Autism Awareness Day. I pray that someday we won’t need a “day” to accept and understand every single wonderful individual, exactly as God made them. Each and every one of my children are a gift, and they have all taught me a million times over any of the things that I have taught them. (ETA, they all have given my permission to share their names & photographs)
The text on the photo reads:

“April 2 is World Autism Awareness Day. Three of my six children are on the autism spectrum. It’s called autism spectrum disorder because there are huge differences (yet many similarities) among those people on the autism spectrum. My children currently range from non-verbal to intellectually gifted, yet all diagnosed with ASD. The current rate of ASD is 1 in 68 so I’m sure you know someone who is affected by it. Although each of my ASD children have unique challenges that I wish I could remove from them (as no parent wants to see their child struggle), they also each have amazing, unique gifts BECAUSE of their ASD. I ask that you educate yourself further about ASD, consider a donation to one of the many different ASD charities, or simply remind yourself & those around you that we are ALL unique individuals, loved & created by God, who deserve as much respect and dignity as everyone else does. I’m humbled and blessed that God chose me to be the mother of these amazing children (and ALL my unique children). Please keep compassion in mind when you are out in the world and experience someone “different” than you. You never know what challenges they might face.”

  

Leave a Reply

